mac:Quick Note opening on Wrong Desktop

Have you tried turning it on and off again?

stephenfrompetaluma wrote on discussions.apple.com:

Quick Note is supposed to allow a note to be created while working in any app. I am able to do this, but only if the Apple Notes app is not running or is minimized.  If Notes is open on another desktop, the Quick Note opens on that desktop, taking me away from the desktop on which the app I'm working in is open and defeating the utility of the Quick Note feature.
Am I missing something? Or is this a bug?

I'd been fighting with this for ages, and it has been steadily driving me insane.

Luckily Bloo Erik responded with an answer:

I figured it out! If you go to System Prefs > Mission Control and uncheck "When switching to an application, switch to a Space with open windows for the application" and the quick note will just pop up.
This doesn't seem to work if you are in a full screen app though, which is a bummer.

Now, whilst this doesn't actually seem to give me the behaviour I want, I tried toggling the setting on and off to see if that would fix things.

I'm happy to report, that it did.

Quick Notes now open on the currently active desktop.

I imagine the state of the setting and the UI got out of sync or some other kind of bug occurred.

Software is hard.